U.S.D. # 227 Board of Education met May 7, 2012, at 7:00 p.m. for the Regular Board Meeting. Board members in attendance were: Bill Carr, Brit Hayes, Brenda Shelton, Scott Bradford, Roy Hargadine (arrived 7:03 p.m.), Michael Cossman (arrived 8:30 p.m.). Administrators in attendance were Doug Chaney and Curt Klein. Others attending: Christina Cohoon, Selina Estrada, Macy Mihm, Shania Liggett, Rebecca Borger, Mike Shriwise, Kelsey Cohoon and Abby Setzkorn.

- 1. Brit Hayes (Scott Bradford) motion to approve agenda with the addition of 5E- Jr. High Track and 8A -Activity Bus
- 2. Brit Hayes (Brenda Shelton) motion to approve April minutes as written. Motion carried.
- 3. Rebecca Borger and Shania Liggett expressed their support for Mr. and Mrs. Schutte. Mike Shriwise expressed his concern at the way discipline has been handled at the high school this year.

(Kelsey Cohoon and Abby Setzkorn left at 7:10 p.m.)

- 4. Superintendent Chaney informed the board that D.V. Douglass is almost finished with the roof at the high school. They are projected to be done by Wednesday, May 9th.
- 5. Superintendent Chaney informed the board that Danny Baird would be starting on the gym ceiling the first week out of school and Brak Hard is planning on beginning the football field project shortly after school is out.
- 6. Superintendent Chaney informed the board we are accepting bids for the bus barn until May 14th.
- 7. Superintendent Chaney informed the board that Steve Gechter will no longer be doing audits.
- 8. Superintendent Chaney informed the Board that Summer School will run from June 6 through June 28.
- 9. Scott Bradford (Brit Hayes) motion to accept Sharon Bowman and Jenny Goebel as summer school teachers and Michelle Gilliam and Mary Jane Goebel as paraprofessionals. Motion carried.
- 10. Bill Carr (Brit Hayes) motion for a 15 minute Executive Session with the Board (minus Brenda Shelton) and Administration in attendance to protect the privacy interests of identifiable students to discuss the Clark S. Carlile Scholarship. Motion carried. Time in, 7:20 p.m. time out 7:35 p.m.

(Shania Liggett, Rebecca Borger, Macy Mihm and Selina Estrada left the meeting at 7:23 p.m.)

11. Brit Hayes (Roy Hargadine) motion to award two (2) \$750 scholarships to Elizabeth Ravenstein and Callie Noll, one (1) \$500 scholarship to Parker Pfannenstiel, and five (5)

- \$400 scholarships to Kaitlyn Shelton, Selina Estrada, Andrew Briggs, Lauren Shuler, and Lauren Goans from the 2012 Clark S. Carlile Scholarship Fund.
- 12. Superintendent Chaney and Principal Klein informed the board that drivers-ed will start May 21st and we currently have 28 students signed up.
- 13. Principal Klein updated the Board on the activities going on at the jr. high and high school. The HCHS Forensics Team took state again and 3 pieces received 1st.
- 14. Board member Scott Bradford will hand out 8th grade promotion certificates and board member Brenda Shelton will hand out high school diplomas this year.
- 15. Board member Scott Bradford relayed to the board a parental concern about not having enough track coaches. The administration will keep that in mind for next year.
- 16. Superintendent Chaney informed the board that there were 19 at Kindergarten roundup. Dog Patch is May 11th and school will be let out at noon that day.
- 17. Roy Hargadine (Scott Bradford) motion to recind the motion from the April meeting accepting the bid for the 2013 Thomasbilt activity bus in the amount of \$152,167. Motion carried
- 18. Roy Hargadine (Scott Bradford) motion to accept the bid from Thomasbilt for a 2012 activity bus in the amount of \$150,819. Motion carried.

(Mike Shriwise left the meeting at 8:03 p.m.)

19. Scott Bradford (Brit Hayes) motion for a 35 minute Executive Session with the Board and Administration in attendance for non-elected personnel to protect the privacy interests of an identifiable individual. Motion carried. Time in, 8:03 p.m. – time out 8:38 p.m.

(Michael Cossman arrived 8:30 p.m.)

Michael Cossman (Brit Hayes) motion to extend the above executive session for an additional 20 minutes. Motion carried. Time in, 8:39 p.m. – time out 8:59 p.m.

- 20. Michael Cossman (Brit Hayes) motion to accept the following resignations: Diana Schutte as head volleyball, Derek Schutte as teacher, head girls basketball and head high school track, Russ Hunt as head jr. high girls basketball, Eric Ford as assistant jr. high boys basketball and Jordan Leiker as teacher and golf. Motion carried.
- 21. Brit Hayes (Scott Bradford) motion to accept the certified personnel list as presented for the 2012-2013 school year. See attached. Motion carried.
- 22. Scott Bradford (Bill Carr) motion to accept Britt Ewy as K-12 counselor for the 2012-2013 school year. Motion carried.
- 23. The classified staff list and supplemental staff list were tabled until a later date.
- 24. Roy Hargadine (Scott Bradford) motion to pay bills as presented. Motion carried.

25. Brit Hayes (Roy Hargadine) motion to adjourn. 9:12 p.m.		
(Board President)	(Clerk)	(Date)

